View District
Read news
Read legislation
View slide show
Click here to signup
Cast your vote now...

Press Releases
PRESS RELEASE- Two North County Police Departments Receive Statewide Recognition for Traffic Safety Efforts
May 21, 2008

Pittsfield- State Senator Benjamin B. Downing (D-Pittsfield) announces that the police departments in the towns of Adams and Williamstown have been honored by the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security and the Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association for their traffic safety efforts in 2006.


“Driving fatalities are tragic, unnecessary, and claim lives before their time,” said Downing. “I applaud the Adams and Williamstown Police Departments for promoting safer driving conditions in their communities.  Their efforts have undoubtedly saved lives.” 


The Adams and Williamstown Police Departments, along with 23 other police departments statewide, are winners of the third annual Massachusetts Law Enforcement Challenge where police departments are challenged to reduce motor vehicle-related fatalities, injuries and economic loss by combining traffic enforcement, public information and education campaigns.  The winning Departments were honored at an awards ceremony in Worcester today.


Downing further highlighted the efforts of the Departments’ by presenting them with an Official Senate Citation lauding their traffic safety efforts.


The Challenge targets three major traffic safety priorities: occupant protection through the Click it or Ticket campaign; impaired driving through the Drunk Driving: Over the Limit. Under Arrest campaign; and speeding through innovative speed management plans.  Speeding is estimated to be a contributing factor in one-third of all fatal crashes. 




Meet Senator Downing | Priorities | Legislation
Contact | Email Updates | Slide Shows | In the News
This website is the official policy and constituent service website of Massachusetts State Senator Benjamin B. Downing.
It is maintained by the Office of Senator Downing. Web hosting has not been paid for at taxpayer expense.
Copyright 2006. All rights reserved.

Designed by Boxcar Media